Is my student autistic? Should I press the issue?

Discuss getting a diagnosis, educational help & electronic devices and apps for autism.

Moderator: ModeratorBill

gjhh

Is my student autistic? Should I press the issue?

Postby gjhh » Sat Sep 05, 2015 12:39 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first post. Sorry if I do anything wrong.

I’m a teacher with a student that I strongly believe is displaying symptoms of Autism. The problem is that I have no experience in special needs and no support.

This particular student is seven years old. She *never* makes voluntary eye contact with me or other teachers. If she sees a teacher looking at her, she will look away. Very occasionally, when offered a reward (such as sticker) she will make an exception. She also occasionally forgets to look away when she is particularly excited or upset.

She very rarely speaks to anyone. When she does “speak” , it’s often similar to the babbling sounds of baby talk.

However, she can read exceptionally well for her age. She enjoys reading aloud the names of her fellow students from a list.

Her behaviour is often unusual. When unhappy she will hide under her chair. At other times she will cover her face with her jacket. At times she will face away from the rest of the class and teacher for several minutes.

She makes very few expressions of emotion. On one occasion when she hurt herself, she cried for five minutes without making a single noise.

Things can become more severe at times. On one occasion she undressed in class, on another she picked up every item of food on a lunch table shared with several other students, licked each item then put it back. On all these occasions she appeared to find her own behaviour humorous.

Finally, she often becomes fascinated with very small items, especially stickers, drawings or brightly-coloured items.

Her attitude fluctuates. On many days she is simply quiet and gets on with her work. On others, she is incredibly defiant and disruptive.