2 year old son going through diagnosis process

Discuss getting a diagnosis, educational help & electronic devices and apps for autism.

Moderator: ModeratorBill

Momof2under2

2 year old son going through diagnosis process

Postby Momof2under2 » Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 pm

Hello, I am brand new to the autism information world. I am overwhelmed and confused and it seems the more I read the more questions I have. Here's my story, if anyone has any insight, opinions or comments I would really appreciate them.
My son was born in June of 2014. He was born 5 weeks early, but didn't seem to have any delays in growth or development as of 6 months old. There were things I thought odd, but as a new mom I didn't know what to expect. He was a very serious baby. He did seem to come out of his shell a bit around 4 months. At his year birthday he wasn't walking or talking. At his 15 month check up he was walking but not talking. He will now be 2 in June and doesn't say a single word. No mama, dada, cup. Nothing. He's already in early intervention for the speech delay and a few days ago at his 6 month eval myself, his special instructor and his case manager decided to persue asd diagnosis.
This is a lot to take in, I'm not sure how to feel, how to treat him, what the decides mild from severe and I'm losing my mind. Is there a chart of some sort? I know every child is different. He has his in home observation on the 10th and I don't know what to expect, what questions to ask, what kind of questions they are going to ask me.
I also have a new baby girl born November 2015 that was born 2 and half months early and has her own set of special circumstances. I feel as thought I am unraveling and need some information. Please help.

Winnie

Re: 2 year old son going through diagnosis process

Postby Winnie » Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:31 am

Hi Momof2under2,