Is yeast WORTH fighting? New to ASD!

Discuss autism diets and biomedical treatments of autism.

Moderator: ModeratorBill

mommy4ev

Is yeast WORTH fighting? New to ASD!

Postby mommy4ev » Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:37 pm

Hello, I am a vivid researcher and I have seen so many mixed reactions to treating yeast. I hear many natural anti-fungals do not work, or the prescription anti-fungals work but then behaviors regress or become worse. I have not started treating yeast in my toddler but I was wondering if it is worth it? He is aggressive, non-verbal, minimal eye contact, stims and is inattentive. He is currently only taking a Ortho Bio probiotic (even though I have not noticed any change), vitamin D (he's deficient) and I just started him on Barleans Omega Swirl. He had a stool test that states: "imbalanced floria" for bacteria with the highest level 2+ (nothing in dysbiosis) and one yeast strand called candida tropicalas 1+. We are waiting on our OATs test. Any pointers will be great!

FatherOf2

Re: Is yeast WORTH fighting? New to ASD!

Postby FatherOf2 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:01 pm

Yes, worth it. I would recommend to stay away from all antifungals but one, Amphotericin B. You take it orally. It doesn't get absorbed into blood, so it is easy on liver. It just goes through the GI tract like pepto bismol. Yet, it is one of the strongest antifungals, 10x stronger than Nystatin, which would be my second choice. Most DAN doctors would prescribe Diflucan, which is toxic to liver and doesn't kill as many different ueasys as Ampho. I am thinking of doing a 30 day course of Amphotericin B again to see if it reduces stimming.

williams_dad

Postby williams_dad » Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:17 am

absolutely not worth it, don't do it
killing yeast is the worst thing you can do
all you will end up with is a belly full of drug resistant yeast
http://spectrumsleuth.fr.yuku.com/forums/11/General/General

Nikkie111

Postby Nikkie111 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:35 am