GFCF Diet..is there testing for this?

Discuss autism diets and biomedical treatments of autism.

Moderator: ModeratorBill

Clueless

GFCF Diet..is there testing for this?

Postby Clueless » Wed Dec 28, 2005 4:46 pm

I'm new to all this. Is there some sort of blood/allergy test to determine if your child is allergic to glutein and casein before embarking on the diet? My son is older so I anticipate that it will be much harder to remove the bad foods he eats since he is verbal and will ask for them. I'd hate to do the diet if he isn't allergic. Who wants to deal with aggression and him getting upset if it's not necessary... He never had bowel issues or rashes or anything so I suspect the diet may not be the thing for him. What do you think?

Grace

Postby Grace » Wed Dec 28, 2005 5:37 pm

there is a urine test to see if your child would respond to being on the diet...I don't have details, though, but I am sure someone here does...
I did want to say that I considered not using the diet as Jaden didn't have bowel issues like diareah or constipation, etc. Not a lot of gas, etc. But I tried the diet anyway, figuring it couldn't hurt her. It has been 4 months, and when she gets food she shouldn't have, she is a BEAR, which shows that she needed it after all....Later tests showed that she doesn't digest or use alot of nutrients. So I am grateful we put her on the diet when we did.
HTH some,
~Blessed to be called Mama by many~

sashasmom

Postby sashasmom » Wed Dec 28, 2005 5:45 pm

It's called the Peptide test. You should not be GFCF before taking this test. You can order a kit at www.greatplainslaboratory.com

-Crystal

Clueless

Postby Clueless » Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:03 pm

THANKS!

Clueless

Postby Clueless » Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:08 pm

OK- I looked at the website.